• The Automobile Theft Authority receives its funding for each insured vehicle registered in Arizona. The fee is $.50 per policy every 6 months in accordance with ARS §41-3451 (J).

    All insurance companies are required to comply with this assessment but how and when they assess this fee is at their discretion. 

  • Per ARS § 28-101 subsection 86 (a) and (b), “vehicle” is defined as: 

    (a) Means a device in, on or by which a person or property is or may be transported or drawn on a public highway.

    (b) Does not include:

    (i) Electric bicycles, electric miniature scooters, electric standup scooters and devices moved by human power.

    (ii) Devices used exclusively on stationary rails or tracks.

    (iii) Personal delivery devices.

    (iv) Scrap vehicles.

    (v) Personal mobile cargo carrying devices.

  • The following vehicles are not part of the Automobile Theft Assessment

    Mopeds Snowmobiles Mobile Home Trailers
    Golf carts Dirt bikes  ATV's
    Motorscooters Farm Equipment UTV's 
    Motorbikes Trailers Dune buggies 
    Go carts    

     

  • Yes - Law Enforcement and Emergency Vehicles under 26,000 lbs are required to pay the assessment. 

  • No.  Our sole funding source is the $1.00 per policy assessment collected from each Arizona registered insured vehicle.  

  • No, however, we are a law enforcement supporter!  Ninety-five percent (95%) of the AATA's budget is distributed to Law Enforcement and Prosecuting agencies around Arizona in the form of grants. The Arizona Department of Public Safety's Vehicle Theft Task Force, a task force comprised of local, county, state and federal law enforcement detectives throughout Arizona, is one of our largest grantees. 

  • While we are not a law enforcement agency, we are a crime prevention agency!   We bring law enforcement, county prosecutors, insurance companies, and our communities together to collaborate on how we can best serve the public in deter auto theft! 

  • We believe it is.  Auto theft is not just a property crime but rather a crime associated with many other crimes like drug running, human smuggling, burglaries, gang activity, and even terrorism.  Auto theft is a serious crime with serious consequence with effects that reach far beyond that of just a stolen vehicle. 

  • Any person who regularly engages, in whole or in part, in the practice of assembling or collecting information about natural persons for the primary purpose of providing the information to an insurance institution or insurance producer for insurance transactions, including the furnishing of consumer reports or investigative consumer reports to an insurance institution or insurance producer for use in connection with an insurance transaction or the collection of personal information from insurance institutions, insurance producers or other insurance support organizations for the purpose of detecting or preventing fraud, material misrepresentation or material nondisclosure in connection with insurance underwriting or insurance claim activity. This does not include Insurance producers, Government institutions, Insurance institutions Medical care institutions, Medical professionals. ARS 20-2102.

    Who Must Be Licensed

    An Insurance Support Organization is not required to be licensed; however, the director may examine and investigate the affairs of every insurance support organization acting on behalf of an insurance institution or insurance producer which either transacts business in this state or transacts business outside this state that has an effect on a person residing in this state in order to determine whether the insurance support organization has been or is engaged in any conduct in violation of this chapter. ARS 20-2114

    For the purpose of this chapter, an insurance support organization transacting business outside this state which has an effect on a person residing in this state is deemed to have appointed the director to accept service of process on its behalf, if the director causes a copy of the service to be mailed immediately by registered mail to the insurance support organization at its last known principal place of business. The return postcard receipt for the mailing is sufficient proof that the copy of the service was properly mailed by the director. ARS 20-2115.

     

  • For Workers’ Compensation a Rating Organization receives and analyzes and interprets data (statistical
    data, past and present loss experience, catastrophe hazards, insurer expenses and other outlays) and determines a rating system (manual of risk classifications, rules and rates, and rating plan) applicable to a type of insurance. Insurers that are members of a rating organization must use the rating organization's rating system as their own except that an insurer may file a "deviation," which is either a uniform percentage increase or decrease to the rating system, or changes from the rate rule established for a classification of risk to reflect the risk profile for a more specific subcategory of risk. ARS 20-361

  • "Rate service organization" means any person other than a single insurer who assists insurers by
    compiling and furnishing loss or expense statistics and recommending, making or filing rates, forms
    or supplementary rate information. Rate service organization does notinclude a joint underwriting
    association, any actuarial or legal consultant, any employee of an insurer or insurers under common
    control or management, or their employees or manager. ARS 20-381

  • For Property and Casualty lines of insurance other than Workers’ Compensation and Title insurance
    an "Advisory organization" means any person other than a single insurer who assists insurers or rate
    service organizations in the making of rates by compiling and furnishing loss or expense statistics or
    other statistical information and data, or by the submission of recommendations as to rates, forms or
    supplementary rate information. Advisory organization does notinclude a joint underwriting
    association, any actuarial or legal consultant, any employee of an insurer or insurers under common
    control or management or their employees or manager. ARS 20-381
    For Workers’ Compensation and Title insurance an Advisory Organization is any group, association
    or other organization of insurers, whether located within or outside this state, which assists insurers
    which make their own filings or rating organizations in rate making, by the collection and furnishing
    of loss or expense statistics, or by the submission of recommendations, but which does not make
    filings under this article, shall be known as an advisory organization. ARS 20-368

  • NQTLs are processes, strategies, evidentiary standards, or other criteria that limit the scope or duration of benefits for services provided under the plan. Certain utilization reviews, prior authorization and plan provisions may only be applied to mental health/substance use disorder benefits if they are comparable to or less restrictive than those for medical surgical services.

    NQTLs include, but are not limited to:

    • Medical management standards limiting or excluding benefits based on medical necessity, medical appropriateness, or based on whether the treatment is experimental or investigative (including standards for concurrent review).
    • Formulary design for prescription drugs.
    • Network tier design.
    • Fail-first policies or step therapy protocols. For example: Refusal to pay for higher-cost therapies until it can be shown that a lower-cost therapy is not effective.
    • Exclusions based on failure to complete a course of treatment.
    • Restrictions based on geographic location, facility type, provider specialty, and other criteria that limit the scope or duration of benefits for services provided under the plan or coverage.
  • QTLs can be measured numerically. Health insurers generally cannot impose a financial requirement (such as copays, coinsurance, deductible) or a QTL (such as the number of outpatient visits or inpatient days covered) on mental health/substance use disorder benefits that are more restrictive than the financial requirement or QTL that apply to most – but not all – medical surgical benefits in the same classification.

  • MHPAEA protections extend to most health plans, including self-insured and fully insured:

    • Individual health plans issued on and off the Health Insurance Marketplace
    • Large group health plans, including private and public-sector employers with more than 50 employees (certain self-insured governmental plans may opt-out).

    The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires small group plans to provide mental health/substance use disorder benefits. Any plan that offers mental health/substance use disorder coverage must comply with MHPAEA.

  • If your insurance includes prescription drug coverage, it will include benefits for all drugs that your insurer has included on its formulary. If the drug your doctor prescribed is not covered on your insurance formulary, you may be required to appeal to your insurer to use the uncovered drug, or try an alternative drug first.

  • If your insurance limits non-emergency care to in-network doctors and facilities, then your insurer can require you to go to an in-network facility in order to receive services. There may be some exceptions if you are experiencing an emergency or you have a need that can’t be met by an in-network doctor or facility.

  • Particular benefits must be covered under the terms of your insurance policy in order for your insurer to pay for them. Insurers can also require that the service meet criteria to be considered medically necessary before they issue prior authorization for the service.

  • Yes. A complex formula is used to determine the maximum cost-share that an insurer may charge for mental health or substance used disorder services The copay or coinsurance for some medical services may still be lower than the maximum mental health services cost-share. 

  • Unless it’s an emergency or the patient could be harmed, insurers may require patients to try less involved or intensive treatment first.

  • Some group health insurance policies are not required to provide mental health services at parity with medical services.

  • Individual health insurance policies issued prior to 2014, and some group health insurance, do not have to cover mental health/substance use services. In addition, short term and limited benefit policies do not have to include mental health benefits.

  • Parity means parity within your own plan and not parity between plans.

  • MHPAEA requires that insurers meet mental health parity standards in two areas: quantitative limits and non-quantitative limits.

    • Plans must apply comparable financial requirements (such as copay, coinsurance, & deductible) for mental health/substance use disorder and medical surgical care.
    • The number of outpatient visits or inpatient days covered must be comparable for mental health/substance use disorder and medical surgical care.  
    • Prior authorization requirements for mental health/substance use disorder services must be comparable to or less restrictive than those for medical surgical services.

    These standards are applied according to classifications of benefits:

    • Inpatient / in-network
    • Inpatient / out-of-network
    • Outpatient / in-network
    • Outpatient / out-of-network
    • Emergency care
    • Prescription drugs
  • Parity means that financial cost-sharing requirements for mental health/substance use disorder benefits (such as deductibles, copayments, coinsurance, and out-of-pocket limitations) must be comparable but not identical to those for medical surgical. Parity also applies to rules regarding care management (authorization for treatment) and treatment limitations.

     Although benefits may differ across plans, parity requires that the processes related to plan benefit determinations be comparable. The ACA contributed to parity by eliminating annual and lifetime dollar limits for mental health/substance use disorder benefits.

  • The Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008 (MHPAEA) is a federal law requiring health plans to apply similar financial and treatment limits to mental health/substance use disorder benefits and medical surgical benefits.

  • We can help clarify the difference between the need for an appeal or a complaint and to whom that request should be investigated by.  For more information read Appeal Vs Complaint

  • DIFI regulates insurance companies to comply with requirements to protect consumers and encourage economic development. We work to keep the public informed of any changes, programs, opportunities, and laws that may have an impact here in Arizona.

  • We provide information on the various types of insurance, general shopping tips, rates, and reports that can be used to assist in the decisions making process for researching and purchasing insurance.

  • DIFI is short for the Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions.

  • The law requiring DIFI to regulate Motor Vehicle Dealers expired on August 6, 2016. You may refer to HB1358 and HB2535. DIFI ceased accepting new license applications and renewals for Motor Vehicle Dealers. If you have any questions regarding your Motor Vehicle Dealer license, please contact ADOT Motor Vehicle Division Dealer Services and Licensing at (602) 712-7571 or visiting Dealer License Types on the AZDOT.GOV site. 

  • Yes, DIFI does accept Visa and/or MasterCard payments through the eLicensing portal. Payments are not accepted at the DIFI office.

  • No, the DIFI will not accept cash payments.

  • Once DIFI has reviewed each renewal, if there are items needed to complete the renewal application, the licensee will be contacted via e-mail (mortgage industry will be contacted via NMLS).  Once your renewal has been processed and approved, our website will be updated so that your license will no longer reflect “Renewing”.

  • Arizona Statutes prohibit the use of the terms “bank” “credit union” or “trust” in a business name unless the business holds a bank, credit union or trust permit issued by DIFI, another state or federal regulator.  Exceptions may be granted when the business does not hold itself out to be a bank, credit union, trust company or savings and loan association.
    Send a letter to DIFI, attention to the Financial Institutions division requesting permission for use of the name; include the name of the business and the type of business you plan on conducting in Arizona.  See the following Arizona Revised Statutes for reference: §6-391, §6-509 (B), §6-867. §10-401(3), and §10-1506(A)(3).  

  • Yes, you can buy a bond for any amount you want as long it is over the statutorily required amount.  You do not need permission from DIFI in this situation.

  • For the mortgage industry, mortgage brokers, mortgage bankers, commercial mortgage brokers, commercial mortgage bankers, registered exempt persons and loan originators, you will need to submit your application for a license via the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (“NMLS”), telephone number (855) 665-7123.

    *** For all other license types, please visit our Licensing page, click on Financial Institution or Finacial Enterprise and the license type you are applying for.  The “Forms and Fee” section will provide you with the information you need to apply for a license.  You may also call 602-771-2800, if you have additional questions. Collection Agencies may apply through NMLS.

  • All of the financial institutions and enterprises you see listed at the top of this page,  who are transacting business in Arizona and are not exempt by statute must be licensed by DIFI.

  • Checks should be made payable to the Arizona Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions or DIFI.

  • Rates are limited on title loans only.  Please see A.R.S. §44-291 for cap information.

  • You can find the statutes under A.R.S. Title 44, Chapter 2.1.

  • Licensing Timeframes associated with Sales Finance Companies can be found under the Arizona Administrative Code, Article 1. Section R20-4-107.

  • DIFI shall make a final decision on a COMPLETED application within 120 days.    Once DIFI has reviewed your application, you will be contacted via e-mail.   See Arizona Administrative Code R20-4-107 licensing time frames.

  • At this time, there are no associations in Arizona that have applied for and have been issued a permit to transact business as a state-chartered Savings and Loan Association.   Please call 602-771-2800  if you have any questions.

  • Arizona Statutes prohibit use of the terms “bank” “credit union” or “trust” in a business name unless the business holds a bank, credit union or trust permit issued by the DIFI, another state or federal regulator.  Exceptions may be granted when the business does not hold itself out to be a bank, credit union, trust company or savings and loan association.
    See the instructions and application on the Financial Institutions Division webpage  to request permission for use of the name; include the name of the business and the type of business you plan on conducting in Arizona.  See the following Arizona Revised Statutes for reference: §6-391,§ 10-401(3), and §10-1506(A)(3). 

  • A non-cash sale is when a dealer sells a motor vehicle with one or more deferred payments or when a dealer assists in finding financing for the buyer

  • Once your application has been reviewed, you will get notices from NMLS to go to your account/records which you must review for any deficiencies and comply with the requirements made by DIFI.

  • Please refer to the applicable Amendment Checklist for guidelines on making changes.  (The Amendment Checklists are for those who already hold a license, they are not to be used while still in the application process.)  All changes should be reflected on NMLS.  The Amendment Checklist must be printed, completed, and submitted to DIFI along with applicable documents and fees.  The Amendment Checklist is found on the NMLS website under Arizona Requirements page.  

Faq