Process for INSURANCE resident (and some non-resident) applicants to submit fingerprints. - Updated July 2023
Please note the new process for the submission of fingerprints to the Division of Insurance (DOI). This process is currently live and in effect.
Step #1 - Complete your current resident state's clearance request process. Note: If you receive a "Letter of Clearance," upload the letter into the NIPR Attachment Warehouse, " Additional Licensing Documents" section.
***Complete the steps below within 90 days of receiving clearance from your prior resident state:
Step #2 - Complete your AZ fingerprint and background check requirement.
Step #3 - Apply for your AZ Resident Producer License. - Go to NIPR.com and "Apply for a New License"
Step #1 - Complete the AZ Request for Letter of Clearance (L-CLR)for and email to [email protected]
***Complete the steps below within 90 days of receiving clearance from AZ DIFI:
Step #2 - Complete the resident application process for your new resident state.
**Complete the step below within 30 days of receiving your new resident license if you wish to receive an AZ non-resident license without submitting a non-resident application and fees:
Step #3 - Email a copy of your new resident license certificate to [email protected]
Use our "DETERMINING YOUR ARIZONA INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS" online resource to determine if you need to complete insurance continuing education, and if so, how much.
All applications should go through NIPR.com
An individual whose family income is at or below 200% of the federal poverty level may qualify to have the license fee waived. See Form L-WAV, below.
18 USC § 1033 prohibits individuals convicted of certain offenses from engaging in or proposing to become engaged in the business of insurance without the written consent of an insurance regulatory official. 18 USC § 1033(e)(2). Apart from applying for an insurance license, you must request permission to engage in the business of insurance if:
- You have been convicted of any FELONY involving dishonesty or breach of trust that you have not disclosed on your application for an Arizona insurance license, or
- You have been convicted of an 18 USC § 1033 offense, even if you have disclosed it on your application for an Arizona insurance license.
An 18 USC § 1033 offense includes:
- Knowingly making a false material statement or report or overvaluing land, property or security in connection with reports or documents presented to any insurance regulatory official or agency for the purposes of influencing the actions of the official or agency. 18 USC § 1033(a)(1).
- Knowingly making a false entry in any book, report or statement with the intent to deceive any person about the financial condition of an insurance business. 18 USC § 1033(c)(1).
- Using, or attempting to use, threats or force or any threatening letter or communication to corruptly influence, obstruct or impede the due and proper administration of the law in a proceeding involving the business of insurance pending before any insurance regulatory official or agency. 18 USC § 1033(d).