Collection Agencies - DFI
Collection Agencies - DFI
Collection Agencies

This License is required of any person who directly or indirectly solicits claims for collection or collects claims owed, due or asserted to be owed or due to a third party.

Who is exempt from this License?  Please review A.R.S. § 32-1004
 

Inquiries concerning the preparation and filing of License and renewal applications with the Department should be directed to the Licensing Division at 602-771-2800 Option #2 or e-mail at [email protected] .  For more detailed contact information, see the Contact Us tab.

License Renewal Information

You must renew your Collection Agency license(s) on or before January 1. Any Collection Agency license not renewed on or before January 1 will be suspended on January 2, and any Collection Agency license not renewed on or before January 31 will expire. Arizona law does not provide any exception (A.R.S § 32-1025). 

  • Collection agency renewal: $600

All licensees:

  • Fictitious names reports should be submitted as a service request through the elicense.az.gov portal.   
  • License changes (such as an address change, email address change, ownership change) should be submitted as a service request through the elicense.az.gov portal.

NMLS managed licenses: 

  • Licensees must renew all licenses via the NMLS

Arizona ePortal managed licenses: 

Forms and Fees

Application Fees and Forms for Collections Agencies
Arizona Revised Statues §6-126 et seq.

The following nonrefundable fees are payable to the department with the filing of the following applications:

Description

Fees

Forms
New Application 
 

$1,500.00 + License Fee (based upon submission date):

Jan, Feb, Mar: $600.00
April, May, June: $450.00
July, Aug, Sept: $300.00
Oct, Nov, Dec: $750.00* - eLicense option only

Fees are nonrefundable.
*Fee includes the following year renewal fee.

 

License Renewal

License Year: 01/01 - 12/31
Renewal Due: 11/01 - 01/01

$600.00

Fee is non-refundable.

 

 

 

Address Change No Fee
Name Change
 
$250.00
Change of Control/Ownership change (“COC”) No Fee
Active Manager Change No Fee
Officer Change No Fee
License Surrender
 
No Fee
Duplicate License
 
$100.00
Required Reports
Laws, Rules & Substantive Policy Statements & Regulatory Alerts

Arizona Revised Statutes

Article 1 Administration

32-1001   Definitions

32-1004   Exemptions

   

Article 2   Licensing

32-1021    Original application for license; financial statement; bond; definition

32-1022    Contents of financial statement; bond provisions

32-1023    Qualifications of applicants

32-1024    Licensing out‑of‑state collection agents

32-1025    Annual renewal of license; suspension; expiration

32-1026    Issuance of licenses

32-1027    Issuance of provisional license for limited purposes

32-1028    Fees

   

Article 3    Regulation

32-1051     Duties of licensees

32-1053    Denial, revocation or suspension of license

32-1055    Unlawful acts

32-1056    Violation; classification

32-1057    Prosecution of violations; individual liability

 

Chapter 4 Collection Agencies

ARTICLE 15 . Collection Agencies

Arizona Administrative Code Title 20

R20-4-1501 through  R20-4-1530 . Adjustments in Precomputed Charges

 

Substantive Policy Statements 
ARTICLE 1. General Administration
APPLICATIONS GE-1 
CREDIT REPORTS/ARREST RECORDS  GE-3

 

Regulatory Alerts

Collection Agency

Regulatory Bulletin CA-05-01

Examinations

It is the policy of AZDFI to select the most effective and efficient methods of conducting examinations so that significant risks affecting safety and soundness, as well as substantive statutory compliance, can be identified and, if necessary, appropriate supervisory action taken.  Judgment must be utilized to ensure that necessary procedures are performed and ineffective activities are avoided.

The examination fee in accordance with A.R.S. 6-125 is not more than sixty-five dollars per hour for each examiner.  The assessment late penalty is fifty dollars for each day after the thirty day period the enterprise fails to remit the assessment not to exceed the examination assessment amount.

Pursuant to A.R.S. 6-122(3) examination frequency is at the Superintendent’s discretion.

For questions concerning examination of your company or license, please contact the Financial Enterprise Division at 602-771-2800 or e-mail to [email protected]

Collection Agencies - NMLS

This License is required of any person who directly or indirectly solicits claims for collection or collects claims owed, due or asserted to be owed or due to a third party.

Who is exempt from this License?  Please review A.R.S. § 32-1004

All Collection Agency Licensees that have transition to NMLS are encouraged to submit their renewal through NMLS. Please click HERE for Company Renewal instructions.

Company LicensesDescriptionRequirements Checklist

Collection Agency LicenseThis license will be available in NMLS starting January 2, 2017. Those entities or individuals whom act as a collection agency are required to have this license. "Collection agency" means: (a) All persons engaged directly or indirectly in soliciting claims for collection or in collection of claims owed, due or asserted to be owed or due. (b) Any person who, in the process of collecting debts occurring in the operation of his own business, uses any name other than his own which would indicate that a third person is collecting or attempting to collect such debts. Arizona Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapter 9 – Collection Agencies

Collection Agencies - DFI