

NONRESIDENT TEMPORARY APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Application Instructions

Pre-requisites for a non-resident temporary license or certificate:

- 1. Be licensed or certified as an appraiser in a state other than Arizona;
- 2. No more than 10 non-resident temporary licenses or certificates can be issued to an individual in any 12-month period

CRITERIA REQUIRED FOR CERTIFIED GENERAL APPLICATION

☐ \$150 Application Fee
☐ Background check/Fingerprint Clearance Card
☐ Engagement Letter
☐ Proof of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status
☐ Irrevocable consent of service of process
☐ Documentation of "Yes" Answers
☐ Background check/Fingerprint Clearance Card

DIFI application portal:

https://azdifi.portalus.thentiacloud.net/webs/portal/#/

DIFI website link:

https://difi.az.gov/industry/real-estate-appraisers/nonresident-temporary-appraisers

Engagement Letter

- 1. Have a dated and signed letter from a client that names the individual and indicates the client has engaged the individual to conduct an appraisal in Arizona.
- 2. Identifies the property or properties to be appraised.
- 3. Specifies a date certain for completion of the assignment that is no more than one year. This must be a future date.

Proof of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status

Submit evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status, per A.R.S. §41-1080.

Irrevocable Consent to Service of Process.

Complete and submit form.

Disclosure Questions with a 'Yes' Answer:

Provide a statement disclosing the incident, including a date and location. In addition, submit:

- For <u>CRIMINAL</u> matters, a certified copy of (1) Complaint and Indictment; (2) Information;
 (3) PleaAgreement; (4) Pre-Sentence Report; (5) Judgment; (6) Sentencing documents:
 (7) Probation papers; (8) Restoration of Civil Rights/ Expungement/ Dismissal documents.
- For <u>CIVIL</u> matters, a certified copy of (1) Complaint; (2) Amended Complaint; (3) Judgment; (4)Satisfaction of Judgment; (5) Settlement Agreement.
- For <u>DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS</u>, a certified copy of (1) Notice of Hearing and/ or Complaint; (2)Answer; (3) Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law; (4) Final Order/ Administrative Ruling; (5)Consent or Settlement Agreement; 6) Certified License/ Certificate History from any state, other than Arizona, in which applicant is licensed/ certified at the time of application.

Note: If you attempt to obtain the required documents and are told that records have been destroyed or are otherwise unavailable, obtain a written statement to that effect from the agency and/ or court.

Background Check/ Non-IVP Fingerprint Clearance Card

Apply for a criminal background check through the AZ Department of Public Safety (DPS).

- To apply go to: https://www.azdps.gov/services/public/fingerprint
 - Apply for a Non IVP, Fingerprint Clearance Card.
 - For appraiser licensing
 - Select basic fee type of \$67
 - Your fingerprints will be required. Fingerprints can be submitted via Live Scan or by mailing in your inked prints. Follow DPS's instruction on what option you can use.
 - For applicants needing to get inked fingerprints: Use a professional fingerprinting service of your choice. Contact that provider to verify they have form 'FD-258' in stock, as this is the form to use for inking your prints. Follow AZ DPS's instructions on mailing in this form.
- With your appraiser application, include the fingerprint clearance card application number or issued number. This is a 10-digit reference number, that could start with a 'P', 'W', '2' or '0'
- If DPS denies your clearance card, submit the notice of denial.

AZ DPS contact information:

https://www.azdps.gov/services/public-services-portal/fingerprint-clearance-card

Application Fee

Payment can be made online, and is the last step with submitting your application.