

# APPRAISER LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

Renewal applications are accepted within 90 days prior to expiration date or within 90 days after expiration date. If renewal is received within 90 days after expiration date, a delinquent fee of \$25.00 will be due.

#### **CRITERIA REQUIRED FOR APPRAISER RENEWAL**

- □ Fees
- Education
- □ Background check
- Documentation of "Yes" Answers
- Derived Proof of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status

### I. Fees for Renewal Application

- \$425.00 Biennial Renewal Fee
- \$80.00 Biennial National Registry Fee
- \$25.00 Delinquent Fee (if received after expiration date)

### II. Continuing Education that includes a National 7-HR USPAP Update

Complete the required 28 continuing education hours taken within your renewal period.

- a. Course certificate should provide proof of approval from the Department or Appraisers Qualifications Board (AQB) Course Approval Program (CAP).
- b. A course less than two hours will not be accepted.
- c. The same course cannot be repeated within a renewal period.
- d. A course instructor may receive up to 14 hours of continuing education credit for course instruction within a renewal period; a course instructor may not receive credit for the same course in consecutive renewal periods.
- e. Complete a 7-hour National USPAP Update or its AQB-approved equivalent course.
  - USPAP course must be instructed by an AQB Certified USPAP Instructor who is also a state certified appraiser in good standing. Certificate or attachment should include the name of instructor.

#### III. Documentation of "Yes" Answers on the Questioner Page

#### Do not mark "yes" if previously disclosed.

- a. If you answer "YES" to any question, provide a signed, detailed statement describing the facts and circumstances. Include the date and location of the incident or event.
- b. In addition, submit the following:
  - 1) For <u>CRIMINAL</u> matters, a certified copy of: (1) Complaint and Indictment; (2) Information; (3) Plea agreement; (4) Pre-Sentence Report; (5) Judgment; (6) Sentencing documents: (7) Probation papers; (8) Restoration of Civil Rights/Expungement/Dismissal documents.
  - For <u>CIVIL</u> matters, a certified copy of: (1) Complaint; (2) Amended Complaint; (3) Judgment; (4) Satisfaction of Judgment; (5) Settlement Agreement.
  - 3) For <u>DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS</u>, a certified copy of: (1) Notice of hearing and/or complaint; (2) Answer; (3) Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law; (4) Final Order/Administrative Ruling; (5) Consent or Settlement Agreement; (6) Certified License/Certificate History from each state, except Arizona, in which applicant is licensed/certified at the time of application.
- c. Provide any other documentation that the applicant believes supports the applicant's qualifications for licensure/ certification or additional documentation that the Department may require. Note: If you attempt to obtain the required documents and are told that records have been destroyed or are otherwise unavailable, obtain a written statement to that effect from the agency and court. Do not detach or unstaple certified documents. **Documents must remain in the original order received.**



# IV. Background Check

Provide evidence that the applicant has applied for a valid fingerprint clearance card through the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS).

## V. Proof of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status

Applicant must submit evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status, A.R.S. <u>§41-1080</u>.

If the appraiser does not file a renewal application and <u>MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL WITHIN 90 DAYS</u> <u>FOLLWING THE EXPIRATION DATE</u>, the expiration of the license/certificate will be permanent and *the appraiser will have to reapply as a new applicant and comply with the current application requirements.* 

<u>A LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE EXPIRES ON ITS EXPIRATION DATE</u>. An appraiser <u>SHALL NOT</u> engage in, advertise or purport to engage in real estate appraisal activity in this state <u>AFTER</u> a license or certificate has expired and <u>BEFORE</u> the renewal of the expired license or certificate.

Failure to comply with the above requirements will result in the nonrenewal of the appraiser's license/certificate and removal of the appraiser's name from the National Registry list.

<u>APPRAISERS ON INACTIVE STATUS</u>: You must pay the renewal fee and complete an application for renewal AT YOUR USUAL RENEWAL TIME; however, you are not required to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements until the application for reactivation is filed.

**EXCEPTION**: A person deployed outside of the United States on active military duty with the United States Armed Forces and whose license or certificate has expired during such active military duty outside of the United States may file a renewal application within 180 days of returning home from active military duty and shall not be required to pay a late renewal fee. Evidence of the renewal applicant's dates and locations of deployment must be submitted with the renewal application. In addition, the renewal applicant must provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements that the renewal applicant would have otherwise been required to meet during the period preceding the renewal application. A person deployed outside of the United States on active military duty with the United States Armed Forces must file an Application for Inactive License or Certificate Status for Active Military Duty upon deployment. In no event shall the inactive status exceed three years.