ARIZONA PROPERTY AND CASUALTY
RATE AND RULE FILINGS

HOMEOWNERS, MOBILE
HOMEOWNERS,
AND RENTERS INSURANCE

The Property and Casualty Section within the Arizona Department of Insurance and
Financial Institutions (the Department) has developed the following checklist to help you
submit a complete and correct rate and rule filing.

NOTE: This checklist is not intended to serve as an all-inclusive list of
requirements. Insurance policies must meet all requirements of Arizona law,
regardless of whether the law is summarized in this checklist.

This checklist applies to the following types of insurance (TOI's) and sub-types:
4.0 Homeowners

e 4.0001 — Condos;

e 4.0002 — Mobile Homeowners;

e 4.0003 — Owners Occupied;

e 4.0004 — Tenants;

e 4.0005 - Other
This checklist is in addition to the General Filing Checklist

FILING REQUIREMENTS

NOTE - Use and file. All rate filings must be made within 30 days after the effective
date of the rate. Arizona law provides that if the rate or rule does not comply, the
Department may issue an order at any time specifying in what respect the filing is in
conflict and stating that, within 30 days after the order is issued, the rate is no longer
effective. The order will not affect any contract made or issued prior to the effective
date of the order. The insurer or rate service organization making the filing may request
a hearing pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 41, Chapter 6, Article 10. Please
ensure that all of the applicable issues below are addressed in your rate filing. ARS §
20-385.



http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00385.htm
http://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/20/00385.htm

Topic

References*

Requirements

* “§” = Arizona Revised Statutes Section

Credit Reports

ARS § 20
-1652(C)
ARS § 20
-1652(E)
ARS § 20 -2110

If an insurer uses for underwriting purposes information from a report
provided by, or database maintained by, an insurance support
organization or consumer reporting agency related to the premises that
is the subject of the application or to the person applying for insurance,
the insurer shall obtain that information as soon as practicable on
application by a person for insurance coverage and before the
issuance of a binder of insurance coverage. Failure of the insurer to
timely obtain the information required by this subsection precludes the
insurer from declining insurance coverage or terminating a binder of
insurance coverage based on the information. This subsection does
not apply to a policy renewal.

After thirty days from the application by an insured for insurance
coverage, no declination of insurance coverage or termination of a
binder shall be based on information from a consumer report, including
a consumer report provided by, or database maintained by, an
insurance support organization or consumer reporting agency related
to the premises that is the subject of the application or to the person
applying for insurance. Notwithstanding any other law, an insurer may
decline or terminate insurance coverage based on the condition of the
premises as determined through a physical inspection of the premises

Fire Premium
Tax

ARS § 20 -224

A.R.S. § 20-224 provides that each insurer shall pay to the state
treasurer a premium tax of 2.2 percent on fire insurance premiums on
properties in the state of Arizona, “except that the tax on fire insurance
premiums on property located in an incorporated city or town which
procures the services of a private fire company is 0.66 percent. Each
insurer shall reflect the cost savings attributable to the lower tax in fire
insurance premiums charged on property located in an incorporated
city or town that procures the services of a private fire company.” A
rule for such a credit does not appear to be included in the rules for the
above captioned programs. As of this writing, only Fountain Hills and
Carefree qualify for the Fire premium tax credit required by A.R.S. §
20-224. The zip codes for Fountain Hills are 85268 and 85269 and for
Carefree are 85377.

For the purposes of applying the tax; fire insurance is one hundred
percent of fire lines, forty percent of commercial multiple peril non
liability lines, thirty-five percent of homeowners' multiple peril lines,
twenty-five percent of farm owners' multiple peril lines and twenty
percent of allied lines.

If a credit is being applied it should be a 1.54% credit applied to 35% of
the written premium for HO or 100% of written premium for pure fire.

Policy Coverage
Inquiry

ARS § 2
-1652(F)

An insurer shall not consider as a claim any inquiry by an insured into
whether a policy will cover a loss or about the type or level of
coverage. An insurer shall not use such an inquiry, regardless of the
source of the information that an inquiry was made, as a basis for
declining, non-renewing or canceling insurance coverage or a binder of
insurance coverage. An insurer shall not submit to any insurance
support organization or consumer reporting agency that a mere inquiry
was made to the insurer as to the terms or coverage of a policy of
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insurance. An inquiry into coverage on a property insurance policy is
not a claim activity unless an actual claim is filed by the insured that
results in an investigation of the claim by the insurer.

SubTOls

Any Rate or Rate/Rule filing shall use the applicable subTOI when
filing rate changes. Do not use “TOI XX Sub-TOI Combinations” for
filing types Rate or Rate/Rule for Homeowners, Personal Auto, Med
Mal, Other Liabilities, Crop Hail, Commercial Auto, Commercial
Multi-Perl, Inland Marine or Mortgage Guarantee filings when the rate
change(s) apply to specific subTOI(s). This ensures that any rate
change is assigned to the applicable subTOI.

CERTIFICATION OF COMPANY OFFICER

NOTE: Filer certification must be completed and signed by an officer of the company.

|7

, certify on behalf of the company that is

submitting this filing that | am responsible for the validity, accuracy and completeness of the enclosures in
this filing. To the best of my knowledge and belief each form or rate filing included in this filing: 1)
conforms to all of the applicable requirements outlined above; 2) contains no provision(s) previously
disapproved or required to be corrected and/or revised by the Arizona Department of Insurance and
Financial Institutions; 3) does not exceed this company’s powers, the authority granted by its state of
domicile or its Arizona certificate of authority; and 4) complies with all applicable provisions of state or
federal law and orders of the Director of Insurance.

Title:

Email:

Phone:

Date:

Company Officer Signature:




