# ARIZONA PROPERTY AND CASUALTY FORM FILINGS

## HOMEOWNERS, MOBILE HOMEOWNERS AND RENTERS INSURANCE

The Property and Casualty Section within the Arizona Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions (the Department) has developed the following checklist to help you submit a complete and correct form filing.

**NOTE:** This checklist is not intended to serve as an all-inclusive list of requirements. Insurance policies must meet all requirements of Arizona law, regardless of whether the law is summarized in this checklist.

This checklist applies to the following types of insurance (TOI's) and sub-types: **4.0 Homeowners** 

- 4.0000 Homeowners Sub-TOI Combinations;
- 4.0001 Condos;
- 4.0002 Mobile Homeowners;
- 4.0003 Owners Occupied;
- 4.0004 Tenants;
- 4.0005 Other

This checklist is in addition to the General Filing Checklist

### FILING REQUIREMENTS

**NOTE** - Insurers must file homeowner forms before using them. Arizona law provides the Department 30 days to approve or disapprove forms. If 30 days elapse before the Department approves or disapproves a form, the form becomes effective. <u>ARS §</u> <u>20-398</u>.

No policy of fire insurance covering property located in the state shall be made, issued or delivered unless if conforms as to all provisions and the sequence thereof with the basic policy commonly known as the <u>New York Standard Fire Policy</u>, <u>edition of 1943</u>. Such policy is designated as the Arizona Standard Fire Policy (Standard Fire Policy). <u>ARS § 20-1503</u>

Forms for insurance for one or more perils other than those of fire and lightning for which the insurer issuing the policy is authorized to issue, may be used in connection with the standard fire policy. Such other perils or coverages may be included as permitted to be insured by property and casualty insurers. Any stipulations or conditions that are inconsistent with the Standard Fire Policy shall only be applicable to the additional coverages. <u>ARS § 20-1507</u>.

The pages of the standard fire insurance policy may be renumbered and the format rearranged for convenience in the preparation of individual contracts, and to provide space for the listing of rates and premiums for coverages insured thereunder or under endorsements attached or printed thereon, and such other data as may be conveniently included for duplication on daily reports for office records. <u>ARS § 20-1504</u>

A domestic insurer may print in the standard fire policy any provisions which it is authorized or required by law to insert therein. A foreign or alien insurer may print in the policy any provision required by its charter or deed of settlement, or by the laws of its own state or country, not contrary to the laws of this state. <u>ARS § 20-1506</u>

There shall be printed on the first or front page at the head of the Standard Fire insurance policy the name of the insurer or insurers issuing the policy, the location of the home office or United States office of the insurer or insurers, a statement whether the insurer or insurers are stock corporations, mutual corporations, reciprocal insurers, Lloyd's underwriters or otherwise, and there may be added thereto such device or emblem as the insurer or insurers issuing the policy may desire. Any insurer organized under special charter provisions may so indicate upon its policy, and may add a statement of the plan under which it operates in this state. If the policy is issued by a mutual or reciprocal insurer having special regulations with respect to the payment of assessments by the policyholder or subscriber, such regulations shall be printed on the policy, and any such insurer may print upon the policy such regulations as may be appropriate to or required by its form of organization. There may be substituted for the word "company" a more accurate descriptive term for the type of insurer. There may also be added a statement of the group of insurers with which the insurer is financially affiliated. In lieu of the facsimile signatures of the president and secretary of the insurer there may be used the name or names of the officers or managers authorized to execute the contract. ARS § 20-1505

Торіс	References*	Requirements
* "§" = Arizona Revised Statutes Section		
Actual Cash Value	<u>§ 20 -1111(2)</u>	The policy must provide a definition for Actual Cash Value when this term is used in the forms to prevent misleading and deceptive policy language
Appraiser	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	Any appraisal clause must have both the appraisers and the judge be "competent and disinterested".
Proof of Sending Notice	<u>§ 20-1656</u>	Proof of sending of a notice of cancellation and the reasons for cancellation or of intention not to

		and the second increased of
Aubiénstiau	\$ 20, 4502	renew to the named insured at the address shown in the policy shall be sufficient proof of the notice. Any method of proof retained by the insurer for sending a notice of cancellation by any method other than by mail is sufficient proof of the notice.
Arbitration	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	Does not apply to property loss as the Standard Fire Policy does not contain an arbitration clause.
Reduction of limits at Renewal	<u>§ 20-1654(A)</u>	The insurer must provide at least 30 days' notice to reduce the limits of coverage due to a loss. The insurer may not reduce the limits of coverage when the insured has paid premiums and contracted for a specific limit of insurance.
Non-Renewal	<u>§ 20-1654</u>	Unless the insurer, at least thirty days in advance of the end of the policy period, mails or delivers to the named insured at the address shown in the policy, notice of its intention not to renew the policy or to condition its renewal upon reduction of limits or elimination of coverages, the insurer shall not fail to renew the policy upon payment of the premium due on the effective date of the renewal, in accordance with the then existing rating manual of the insurer. For the purposes of this section, any policy written for a term of less than one year may be renewed for a term of one year if the notice is not given as required by this subsection. For the purposes of this subsection, a policy with no fixed expiration date shall be deemed written for successive policy periods of one year. This shall not apply if the insured has accepted replacement coverage or has agreed to nonrenewal. ARS §
		20-1654

in effect ADS 5 20 1652(A)
in effect. ARS § 20-1652(A).
When the policy has been in
effect less than 60 days, it may
only be canceled for the
following reasons:
1. Nonpayment of
premium.
2. Conviction of the named
insured of a crime
arising out of acts
increasing the hazard
insured against
3. Acts or omissions by the
insured or the insured's
representative
constituting fraud or
material
misrepresentation in
obtaining the policy,
continuing the policy or
presenting a claim under
the policy
4. Discovery of grossly
negligent acts or
omissions by the
insured substantially
increasing any of the
hazards insured against.
5. Substantial change in
the risk assumed by the
insurer, since the policy
was issued, except to
the extent that the
insurer should
reasonably have
foreseen the change or
contemplated the risk in
writing the contract.
6. A determination by the
director of insurance
that the continuation of
the policy would place
the insurer in violation of
the insurance laws of
this state.
7. Failure of the insured to
take reasonable steps to
eliminate or reduce any
conditions in or on the
insured premises that
contributed to a loss in
the past or will increase

		<ul> <li>the probability of future losses.</li> <li>8. In the event of nonrenewal based on the condition of the premises (7) the insured shall be given thirty days' notice to remedy the identified conditions. In the event that the identified conditions are not satisfactorily remedied, the insured shall be given an additional thirty days, upon payment of premium, to cure the defective conditions. ARS § 20-1652(B).</li> </ul>
Cancellation Notification	<u>§ 20-1653</u>	All notices of cancellation or nonrenewal shall be in writing, shall be mailed to the named insured at the address shown in the policy or to the last known address of the insured and shall state, with respect to cancellation of policies in effect after the time limits specified in section ARS § 20-1652 and, in the case of nonrenewal of policies as specified in section ARS § 20-1654: In the case of cancellation which specific facts constitute the grounds set forth in section ARS § 20-1652 relied upon. In the case of nonrenewal the specific facts which constitute the reason the policy is not being renewed which may include, but are not limited to, the grounds set forth in section ARS § 20-1652. This would include an Insured initiated non-renewal, having obtained other coverage or mid-term cancellation.
Proof of Sending Notice	<u>§ 20-1656</u>	Proof of sending a notice of cancellation and the reasons for cancellation or of intention
		not to renew to the named insured by mail at the address

		shown in the policy is sufficient
		proof of the notice required by
		this article. ARS § 20-1656
Cancellation – Premium		The company may only apply
Refund		customary short rate tables
		when cancellation is at the
		request of the insured and may
		only be prorated when canceled
		by the company.
Extreme Temperatures	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	The Standard Fire Policy does
		not allow the exclusion of
		extremes of temperature that
		may be the result of fire and
		lightning.
Fire Department Service	<u>§ 20-103</u>	Arizona does not allow for Fire
Charge		Department Service Charges
		(FDSC) to be covered in
		accordance with ARS § 20-103
		as it is not insurance. A.R.S. §
		20-103(B) clearly states that
		"Private ambulance service
		contracts or private fire
		protection services contracts are not insurance. An insured could
		be misled into reasonably
		concluding that the FDSC
		coverage is insurance merely
		because the provision is in the
		policy. Since fire department
		services are not considered
		under Arizona law, they should
		not be in an insurance policy.
Fire Tax Credit	§ 20-224	A.R.S. § 20-224 provides that
		each insurer shall pay to the
		state treasurer a premium tax of
		2.2 percent on fire insurance
		premiums on properties in the
		state of Arizona, "except that the
		tax on fire insurance premiums
		on property located in an
		incorporated city or town which
		procures the services of a
		private fire company is 0.66 percent. Each insurer shall
		reflect the cost savings attributable to the lower tax in
		fire insurance premiums
		charged on property located in
		an incorporated city or town that
		procures the services of a
		private fire company. As of this
		writing, only Fountain Hills and
		Carefree qualify for the Fire

		premium tax credit required by
		ARS § 20-224. The zip codes for
		Fountain Hills are 85268 and
		85269 and for Carefree are
		85377
First Party Payment	<u>§ 20 -461</u>	Any first party claim must be
	AAC R20-6-801	payable within 30 days after
		receipt of an acceptable proof of
		loss.
Exclusions	§ 20-270	Exclusions that are not found in
	0	the Standard Fire Policy, may
		not apply to any ensuing direct
		loss by the peril of fire. Unless
		the exclusion is specifically
		listed in the Standard Fire Policy
		or is increased by any means
		within the control or knowledge
		of the insured., such as neglect,
		all direct loss by Fire and
		Lightning must be covered no
		matter if another concurrent peril
		that is excluded contributes to
		the loss. Lukes v. Am. Family
		Mut. Ins.Co., 455 F. Supp. 2d
		1010, 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
		60933 (D. Ariz. 2006). In other
		words, exclusion may not apply
		to loss by fire resulting from
		flood, nuclear, vandalism nor
		may it apply to loss by fire if the
		loss is not within the knowledge
		or control of the insured.
HO Claims Less Than	§ 20-270	No insurer shall charge more
Deductible		premium for residential property
		insurance for claims that did not
		exceed the five hundred dollar
		deductible in the previous three
		years. ARS § 20-270
Increased Hazard	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	The Standard Fire Policy only
		suspends or restricts insurance
		coverage while the hazard is
		increased by any means within
		the control or knowledge of the
		insured. The forms may not
		restrict coverage for any ensuing
		direct loss by fire when the
		increased hazard is not within
	0.00.4500	the knowledge of the insured.
Innocent Co-insured	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	The Standard Fire Policy refers
		to "the" insured, not "an" or "any"
		under conditions suspending or
		restricting insurance while the
		hazard is increased by any

	1	
		means within the control or
		knowledge of the insured. This
		exclusion may not apply to an
		innocent co-insured. See Nagel
		v. Farmers 205 ARIZ.
		517,73P.3d (Ariz. Ct App 2003)
		The innocent co-insured is not
		limited to acts of domestic
		violence, which is addressed in
		ARS 20-448 (J) but extends to
		any innocent co-insured.
Sending Notification	<u>§20-1654(A).</u>	A 30 day notice of nonrenewal
········	<u>3</u>	prior to the policy expiration date
		must always be provided
		pursuant to ARS §20-1654(A). A
		thirty day notice must be sent if
		renewal is conditioned upon
		reduction of limits or elimination
		of coverages and the insurer
		may not simply state that the
		notice will be mailed in
		accordance with state law.
Nuclear Exclusion	\$ 20, 4502	
Nuclear Exclusion	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	Direct loss by fire resulting from
		nuclear reaction or nuclear
		radiation or radio-active
		contamination must be insured
		against per The Standard Fire
		Policy.
Property Removed	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	The forms must provide a
	<u>,</u>	provision providing coverage for
		property removed from the
		premises endangered by the
		perils insured against in the
		policy for a minimum of five days
		pre The Standard Fire Policy.
Sales Tax	<u>§ 20 -461</u>	Sales tax may not be excluded.
	AAC R20-6-801	Sales tax is included in an actual
		cash value estimate and is not
		depreciable. Profit and overhead
		must be included in an actual
		cash value payment if the
		insured would reasonably be
		likely to incur the cost in
		repairing or replacing the
		covered loss, regardless of
		whether the insured intends to
		repair or replace the property I
		repair or replace the property. Tritschler vs Allstate 2 CA-CV
		Tritschler vs Allstate, 2 CA-CV
		Tritschler vs Allstate, 2 CA-CV 2005-0136, Court of Appeals
		Tritschler vs Allstate, 2 CA-CV 2005-0136, Court of Appeals Arizona, Division Two,
		Tritschler vs Allstate, 2 CA-CV 2005-0136, Court of Appeals Arizona, Division Two, Department A, Oct 12, 2006.
Sudden and Accidental	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	Tritschler vs Allstate, 2 CA-CV 2005-0136, Court of Appeals Arizona, Division Two, Department A, Oct 12, 2006. The Standard Fire Policy
Sudden and Accidental	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	Tritschler vs Allstate, 2 CA-CV 2005-0136, Court of Appeals Arizona, Division Two, Department A, Oct 12, 2006.

Terrorism Exclusion	8 20-1503(B)	fire and lightning." There is no limitation in the policy concerning "sudden and accidental" loss for the perils of Fire, Lightning and for Removal from Premises Endangered by the Perils Insured Against in the Policy. The definition of arson in Webster's dictionary implies that it is an intentional act. A person committing Vandalism or Malicious Mischief may cause an unintentional fire loss. Therefore any endorsements must provide coverage for intentionally (such as arson) and unintentionally that cause ensuing direct loss by fire The Standard Fire Policy may
	<u>§ 20-1503(B)</u>	exclude coverage for loss by fire or other perils insured against if the loss is caused directly or indirectly by terrorism and involves risks other than Homeowners. ARS § 20-1503(B)
Vacant Property	<u>§ 20 -1503</u>	A vacancy, vacant or unoccupied definition must conform to the Standard Fire Policy. A building is only considered vacant or unoccupied beyond a period of sixty consecutive days
Void-Rescind	<u>§ 20-1652 (A)</u> <u>§20-1109</u>	An insurer may "not provide" coverage in the event of concealment or fraud associated with a claim or may cancel a policy within the first 59 days or after 60 days if the conditions pursuant to A.R.S. § 20-1652(A) are met but a policy cannot be voided or rescinded unless all three of the conditions in A.R.S. § 20-1109 associated with the application or negotiations associated with obtaining insurance are met.

### **CERTIFICATION OF COMPANY OFFICER**

#### NOTE: Filer certification must be completed and signed by an officer of the company.

l,, certify on behalf of the company that is
submitting this filing that I am responsible for the validity, accuracy and completeness of the enclosures in
this filing. To the best of my knowledge and belief each form or rate filing included in this filing: 1)
conforms to all of the applicable requirements outlined above; 2) contains no provision(s) previously
disapproved or required to be corrected and/or revised by the Arizona Department of Insurance and
Financial Institutions; 3) does not exceed this company's powers, the authority granted by its state of
domicile or its Arizona certificate of authority; and 4) complies with all applicable provisions of state or
federal law and orders of the Director of Insurance and Financial Institutions.

Title:			_
Email:			_
Phone:			_
Date:			_
Company Offic	er Signature:	 	